The Alentejo is the south-central part of Portugal.

The greater region is defined within Portugal by the land bordering the left bank of the Tagus river to the North and extending to the South where it borders the Algarve region. The origin of its name, “além” + “Tejo” combined as Alentejo, literally translates to “Beyond-the-Tagus” or “Across-the-Tagus”.

Its main cities are Évora, Elvas, Portalegre (Upper Alentejo), Beja, Moura, Serpa (Lower Alentejo) and Sines (Coastal Alentejo).

Being a traditional region, it is also one of the more recent seven Regions of Portugal (NUTS II subdivisions). Today, Lezíria do Tejo subregion, formerly belonging to Lisboa e Vale do Tejo region, is part of the Alentejo NUTS II region. The Alentejo is a region known for its traditional polyphonic singing groups, similar to those found on Sardinia, Corsica, etc.