Guangxi, officially the Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, is a Chinese autonomous region in South Central China, bordering Vietnam. Formerly a province, Guangxi became an autonomous region in 1958.Guangxi’s location, in mountainous terrain in the far south of China, has placed it on the frontier of Chinese civilization throughout much of China’s history. The current name “Guang” means “expanse” and has been associated with the region since the creation of Guang Prefecture in AD 226. It was given provincial level status during the Yuan Dynasty, but even into the 20th century it was considered an open, wild territory.The abbreviation of the province is “桂” (Pinyin: Guì; Zhuang: Gvei), which comes from the name of the city of Guilin. Guilin is the former capital of the province and the center of much of Guangxi’s culture, politics, and history, and is currently the third largest city in the autonomous region. However, Guilin overly relied on a tourism economy and its position was replaced by the current capital city of Nanning, the largest city in Guangxi.